June 14, 2024

Thematic Program on Operator Algebras
July-December, 2007

Organizing Committee:
George Elliott (chairman, Toronto)
Dietmar Bisch (Vanderbilt)
Joachim Cuntz (Münster)
Kenneth Davidson (Waterloo)
Thierry Giordano (Ottawa)
Roland Speicher (Queen’s)

Program supported by:
Special Operator Algebra Fund
Supported by
Professor George Elliott

Mailing List : To receive updates on the Operator Algebra Program, please subscribe to our mailing list at

Scientific Advisors:

Alain Connes (Collège de France)
Uffe Haagerup (Odense)
Vaughan F. R. Jones (Berkeley)

Eberhard Kirchberg (Humboldt)
N. Christopher Phillips (Oregon)
Dan-Virgil Voiculescu (Berkeley)

Distinguished Lecture Series

November 6,7 & 8, 2007- 3:30 P.M.
Uffe Haagerup (Odense)
Free probability and the invariant subspace problem for von Neumann algebras

May 28, 29,30- 2008
Alain Connes (Collège de France, IHES & Vanderbilt University)

Operator Algebra Seminars

Tuesdays and Thursdays at Fields


July 16 - 20, 2007
Workshop on Noncommutative Dynamics and Applications
Fields Institute

William Arveson (Berkeley)
B.V. Rajarama Bhat (Indian Statistical Institute)
Remus Floricel (Regina)

Robert Powers (Pennsylvania)
Joachim Zacharias (Nottingham)
September 17 - 21, 2007
Workshop on Free Probability, Random Matrices, and Planar Algebras
Fields Institute

Jamie Mingo (Queen’s)
Dietmar Bisch (Vanderbilt)

Roland Speicher (Queen’s)
Alexander Soshnikov (Davis)

October 29 - November 2, 2007
Workshop on von Neumann Algebras

Dietmar Bisch (Vanderbilt)
Jamie Mingo (Queen’s)
Narutaka Ozawa (Tokyo)

Sorin Popa (UCLA)
Dimitri Shlyakhtenko (UCLA)
Roland Speicher (Queen’s)

November 12- 16, 2007
Workshop on Structure of C*-Algebras
Fields Institute

Marius Dadarlat (Purdue)
Eberhard Kirchberg (Humboldt)
Huaxin Lin (Oregon)

Ian Putnam (Victoria)
Mikael Rørdam (Odense)
Andrew Toms (York)

December 11 - 15, 2007
Workshop on Operator Spaces and Quantum Groups
Fields Institute

Matthias Neufang (Carleton)
Marius Junge (Illinois)
Vern Paulsen (Houston)

Gilles Pisier (Paris, Texas A&M)
Zhong-Jin Ruan (Illinois)

Graduate Courses

Introduction to Operator Algebras
Man-Duen Choi (Toronto) and Ken Davidson (Waterloo)
Structure of C*-Algebras
George Elliott (Toronto), Chris Phillips (Oregon), and Mikael Rørdam (Odense)
Free Probability
Roland Speicher (Queen’s) and Jamie Mingo (Queen's)
Functional Analysis
(Jul. 3-Aug. 30, Tuesdays 10 a.m., Fields Library)
*To register, please contact Andrew Toms (

Affiliated Activities


June 2 - 6, 2008
Session on Non-Commutative Geometry and K-Theory for Operator Algebras
at the Second Canada-France Mathematical Congress,
Montreal, Quebec
Organizers: Alain Connes (Collège de France) and George Elliott (Toronto),

May 27 - 31, 2008
Workshop on Noncommutative Geometry
Organizers: Masoud Khalkhali (Western), Matilde Marcolli (Max Planck Institute, Bonn), and Guoliang Yu (Vanderbilt)

May 20 - 24, 2008
36th Canadian Annual Symposium on Operator Algebras and Their Applications (COSy)
Organizers: Man-Duen Choi (Toronto), George Elliott (Toronto), Raphael Ponge (Toronto), and Andrew Toms (York)

May 16- 18, 2008
Fields Workshop around Connes Embedding Problem
University of Ottawa

January 27 - February 1, 2008
BIRS Workshop: C*-algebras Associated to Discrete and Dynamical Systems
Banff, Alberta
Organizers: Soren Eilers (Copenhagen), George Elliott (Toronto), Alex Kumjian (Reno), David Pask (Newcastle, Australia), Iain Raeburn (Newcastle, Australia), and Andrew Toms (York)

January 13 - 18, 2008
BIRS Workshop: Free Probability, Extensions, and Applications
Banff, Alberta
Organizers: Andu Nica (Waterloo), Roland Speicher (Queen's), Antonia Tulino (Sannio), and Dan Voiculescu (Berkeley)


June 5 - 9, 2007
35th Canadian Annual Symposium on Operator Algebras and Their Applications (COSy)
University of Guelph
Organizing Committee: John Holbrook (University of Guelph), and David Kribs (University of Guelph)

August 13 - 24, 2007
Ottawa Summer School in Operator Algebras
University of Ottawa
Organizer: Thierry Giordano

August 13 - 17, 2007
Dietmar Bisch (subfactors), Matthias Neufang (operator spaces), and Narutaka Ozawa (rigid factors);
August 20 - 24, 2007
Chris Phillips (classification of C*-algebras), Jean Renault (dynamical systems and C*-algebras), and Stefaan Vaes (quantum groups)

Apply to the Program

All scientific events are open to the mathematical sciences community. Visitors who are interested in office space or funding are requested to apply by filling out the application form. Additional support is available (pending NSF funding) to support junior US visitors to this program.

Fields scientific programs are devoted to research in the mathematical sciences, and enhanced graduate and post-doctoral training opportunities. Part of the mandate of the Institute is to broaden and enlarge the community, and to encourage the participation of women and members of visible minority groups in our scientific programs.

Back to Top