April 24, 2014

November 24-28, 2014
Legacy of Vladimir Arnold
Fields Institute, 222 College St., Toronto

Local Organization Committee
M. Boyko, I. Gorbovickis, L. Kadets,
B. Khesin, A. Khovanskii, J. Mracek,
S. Tabachnikov

Scientific Committee
E. Bierstone (Toronto), H. Hofer (IAS), B. Khesin (Toronto), A. Khovanskii (Toronto), S.Tabachnikov (Penn State and ICERM), A. Varchenko (North Carolina)


Vladimir Igorevich Arnold, 1937–2010, was one of the greatest mathematicians of the 20th century. He has made fundamental contributions to numerous fields of mathematics, including dynamical systems, classical mechanics, singularity theory, algebraic geometry, topology and catastrophe theory. In 1957, at the age of 19, Arnold, together with his teacher A. N. Kolmogorov, solved Hilbert’s 13th problem on representation of continuous functions. The results contained in his doctoral thesis “Small denominators and stability problems in classical and celestial mechanics” became one of the cornerstones of the famous KAM theory, named after its creators Kolmogorov, Arnold, and Moser. Arnold's monographs “Mathematical Methods of Classical Mechanics” and “Ordinary Differential Equations” became classical university textbooks.

The conference "Legacy of Vladimir Arnold" to be held at the Fields Institute will celebrate the work and life of this distinguished mathematician and remarkable human being. In addition to research talks it will host an evening round table devoted to Arnold's problems and open problems in related areas, as well as an evening session for high school students.

Arnold's 60th anniversary conference, ArnoldFest, was held at the Fields Institute in 1997.

Proceeding of the conference will be published in the "Arnold mathematical journal", a recently established journal based in the Stony Brook University, covering a broad range of mathematical domains. Deadline for submission: November 28, 2014.

Participants as of March 20, 2014
*Waiting confirmation

Full Name University/Affiliation
* Berry, Michael University of Bristol
  Chmutov, Sergei Ohio State University
  Domokos, Gabor Budapest University of Technology and Economics
* Eliashberg, Yakov Stanford University
  Etingof, Pavel Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  Ferrand, Emmanuel University Joseph Fourier
  Fuchs, Dmitry University of California, Davis
  Gabrielov, Andrei Purdue University
  Ginzburg, Victor University of California
  Givental, Alexander B. University of California, Berkeley
  Goryunov, Victor The University of Liverpool
  Gusein-Zade, Sabir M. Moscow State University
  Hofer, Helmut Institute for Advanced Study
  Ilyashenko, Yulij Cornell University
  Jeffrey, Lisa University of Toronto
  Kaloshin, Vadim University of Maryland
  Karshon, Yael University of Toronto
  Kazarian, Maxim Steklov Institute of Mathematics
* Kazhdan, David The Hebrew University of Jerusalem
  Kharlamov, Vyacheslav Université de Strasbourg
  Kontsevich, Maxim Institute des Hautes Études Scientifiques
  Lando, Sergei Higher School of Economics
  Misiolek, Gerard University of Notre Dame
  Moffatt, Keith Isaac Newton Institute for Mathematical Sciences
  Polterovich, Leonid Tel-Aviv University
  Polyak, Michael Technion
  Scherbak, Inna Tel-Aviv University
  Shapiro, Boris Stockholm University
  Shapiro, Mikhail Michigan State University
  Shnirelman, Alexander Concordia University
  Tabachnikov, Sergei Pennsylvania State University
  Tokieda, Tadashi University of Cambridge
  Vainshtein, Alexander University of Haifa
  Varchenko, Alexander University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
  Vassiliev, Victor A. Russian Academy of Science
  Vershik, Anatoly Moiseevich Steklov Institute of Mathematics, St. Petersburg
* Villani, Cédric Institut Henri Poincaré, Paris
Université Claude Bernard Lyon 1
  Viro, Oleg Stony Brook University
  Vladimirov, Vladimir A. University of York
  Zorich, Anton Université de Rennes 1