March 21, 2023

July 5-9, 2010
Iwasawa 2010 Conference

Mining Building, Room 128
Mining Building (MB)
170 College Street
MB on Campus Map

Sponsored by
Organizing Committee
Manfred Kolster (McMaster)
Romyar Sharifi, (University of Arizona)
Cristian Popescu (UC San Diego)
Scientific Committee
John Coates (Cambridge)
Ralph Greenberg (Washington)
Cornelius Greither (München)
Masato Kurihara (Keio)
Thong Nguyen Quang Do (Besancon)
Online registration now closed.
Registration on-site July 5.
Program Schedule
List of Confirmed Participants Abstracts
Invited Speakers Accommodation Resources


The conference will take place from Monday, July 5, until Friday, July 9, 2010, at the University of Toronto.

It is the fourth in a biannual series, following conferences in Besancon and Limoges, France, and Irsee, Germany, which in turn followed a pre-inaugural meeting in Caen in 2002. The meeting aims to bring together different strands of research in and closely related to the area of Iwasawa theory.

The conference is supported by the Fields Institute and by NSF Award #1005225. Some funds are available for young researchers at the graduate and postdoctoral level, in particular for those who are US-based. We strongly encourage applications for support. To apply please use the link above. One letter of recommendation is required. The deadline for applications is May 2, 2010.

To register for the conference please use the link on this page. Registration is possible until June 27, 2010.

Below is a tentative list of invited speakers.


Adebisi Agboola (UC Santa Barbara)
Konstantin Ardakov (Nottingham)
Trevor Arnold (McMaster)
Francois Brunault (ENS Lyon- UMPA)
Mirela Ciperiani (UTexas at Austin)
Olivier Fouquet (Orsay)
Takashi Hara (Tokyo)
Haruzo Hida, (UCLA)
Cornelius Greither (Bundeswehr, München)
Andreas Nickel, (Regensburg)
Tadashi Ochiai (Osaka)
Jehoon Park (McGill)
Robert Pollack (Boston)
Cristian Popescu (UC San Diego)
Jonathan Pottharst (Boston University)
Kartik Prasanna (Michigan) *
Jürgen Ritter (Deuringen, Germany)
Otmar Venjakob (Heidelberg)
Tom Weston (UMass Amherst)
Chris Wuthrich (Nottingham)
Sarah Zerbes (University of Exeter)

* to be confirmed


8:30 Morning Coffee & Registration Morning Coffee Morning Coffee Morning Coffee Morning Coffee
9:00 Venjakob Nickel Bruneault Ochiai Agboola
10:15 Hara Ardakov Pottharst Fouquet Ciperiani
11:15 coffee break coffee break coffee break coffee break coffee break
11:45 Ritter Wuthrich Zerbes Arnold Park
12:45 Lunch Break Afternoon off for World Cup Afternoon off for World Cup Lunch Break End of Conference
2:30 Popescu Pollack
3:30 coffee break coffee break
4:00 Greither Weston
5:00   Hida Prasanna    

Final List of Participants:

Full Name University Name
Agarwal, Mahesh University of Michigan-Dearborn
Agboola, Adebisi UC Santa Barbara
Aoki, Miho Shimane University
Ardakov, Konstantin University of Nottingham
Arnold, Trevor McMaster University
Beliaeva, Tatiana University of Strasbourg
Belliard, Jean-Robert Université de Franche-Comté
Bley, Werner Universität Kassel
Brakocevic, Miljan University of California, Los Angeles
Brooks, E. Hunter University of Michigan
Brooks, Ernest University of Michigan
Brunault, François École normale supérieure de Lyon
Buckingham, Paul University of Alberta
Chida, Masataka Kyoto University
Ciperiani, Mirela University of Texas at Austin
Diao, Hansheng Harvard University
Dodge, Joel UCSD
Fouquet, Olivier Université Paris-Sud (Orsay)
Franks, Chase Arizona State University
Fujii, Satoshi Keio University
Gamzon, Adam UMass Amherst
Gao, Hui Purdue University
Gherga, Adela McMaster University
Greither, Cornelius Universität der Bundeswehr München
Hara, Takashi University of Tokyo
Harron, Robert Boston University
Helm, David University of Texas at Austin
Hida, Haruzo University of California, Los Angeles
Hubbard, David  
Johnston, Henri University of Cambridge
Kimura, Iwao University of Toayama
Kisilevsky, Hershy Concordia University
Kobayashi, Shinichi Tohoku University
Kolster, Manfred McMaster University
Kurihara, Masato Keio University
Lei, Antonio University of Cambridge
Lim, Meng Fai McMaster University
Mantilla-Soler, Guillermo University of Wisconsin-Madison
Martin, Anthony Université de Franche Comté
Miura, Takashi Keio University
Morisawa, Takayuki Waseda University
Movahhedi, Abbas Université de Limoges
Nickel, Andreas Universität Regensburg
Nicolas, Vesale Universite de Franche-Comte
Ochiai, Tadashi Osaka University
Ohshita, Tatsuya Kyoto University
Okano, Keiji Tokyo University of Science
Perbet, Guillaume Université de Franche-Comté
Petersen, Sebastian Universität der Bundeswehr
Pollack, Robert Boston University
Popescu, Cristian University of California, San Diego
Pottharst, Jonathan Boston University
Reduzzi, Davide Alessandro University of California, Los Angeles
Ritter, Jürgen  
Roussine, Sophie Université de Caen
Schettler, Jordan Univeristy of Arizona
Sharifi, Romyar University of Arizona
Sprung, Florian (Ian) Brown University
Taleb, Reza McMaster University
Tsai, Pei-Yu Harvard University
Venjakob, Otmar Universität Heidelberg
Viguié, Stéphane Université de Franche-Comté
Wang, Xiaoheng Harvard University
Weiss, Alfred University of Alberta
Weston, Tom University of Massachusetts
Witte, Malte Universität Regensburg
Wuthrich, Christian University of Nottingham
Yazdani, Soroosh McMaster University
Zerbes, Sarah University of Exeter

Back to top