July 20, 2024

April 22-24, 2011
Fields Workshop on Group Actions, Generalized Cohomology Theories and Affine Algebraic Geometry
University of Ottawa

Daniel Daigle and Kirill Zainoulline,
Department of Mathematics and Statistics, University of Ottawa

onsite April 22
Abstracts Accommodation and Travel to Ottawa

The purpose of the mini-workshop is to bring together specialists and young researchers (PhD students and Postdocs) in these areas to discuss recent developments and results, to provide an overview of the current research and applications, to find new interactions between affine algebraic geometry and the techniques of A1-homotopy theory, and to advertise the subject among students.

Outline of the program:

We plan to have approximately 6 invited 1-hour talks with 4 shorter contributed talks by young researchers, spread out over Friday, Saturday and Sunday morning. In addition, there will be 2 introductory lectures for non-experts, e.g. graduate students, on the A1-homotopy theory and the Zariski cancellation problem.


Dear participants to the Ottawa workshop on "Group Actions, Generalized Cohomology Theories and Affine Algebraic Geometry",

Aravind Asok wrote lecture notes on " /A^1-contractibility and topological contractibility", i.e., the subject on which he gave two lectures in the workshop. He posted the document in his website, and provided the following link:

Many thanks to Aravind, and best wishes to all.

Daniel Daigle
Kirill Zainoulline


Invited Speakers:

Aravind Asok (USC)
Brent Doran (ETH)
Gene Freudenburg (Western Michigan)
Rick Jardine (Western Ontario)
Alok Maharana (McGill)
Leonid Makar-Limanov (Wayne State)
Jose Malagon-Lopez (Ottawa)
Lukas-Fabian Moser (LMU Munich)
Karol Palka (UQAM)
Peter Russell (McGill)


All lectures will take place in the room B005 at the Department of Mathematics and Statistics, University of Ottawa (585 King Edward)
For abstracts please see

Friday, April 22

10:00 - 11:00 Asok
11:15 - 12:15 Freudenburg
14:00 - 14:40 Maharana
15:00 - 16:00 Russell
16:20 - 17:00 Malagon-Lopez

Saturday, April 23

10:00 - 11:00 Asok
11:15 - 12:15 Jardine
14:00 - 14:40 Palka
15:00 - 16:00 Russell
16:20 - 17:00 Moser

Sunday, April 24

9:30 - 10:30


10:45 - 11:45 Makar-Limanov

List of Confirmed Participants as of April 11, 2011:

Full Name University Name
Asok, Aravind University of Southern California
Baek, Sanghoon University of Ottawa
Daigle, Daniel University of Ottawa
Doran, Brent ETH Zurich
Freudenburg, Gene Western Michigan University
Jardine, Rick University of Western Ontario
Junkins, Caroline University of Ottawa
Kolhatkar, Ratnadha Université Laval
Leclerc, Marc-Antoine University of Ottawa
Maharana, Alok McGill University
Makar-Limanov, Leonid Wayne State University
Malagón-López, José University of Ottawa
Martel, Justin University of Ottawa
Moser, Lukas-Fabian Universität München
Nenashev, Alexander York University, Glendon College
Palka, Karol Université du Québec à Montréal
Portwood, Chris University of Western Ontario
Russell, Peter McGill University
Turgeon, Maxime University of Ottawa
Zainoulline, Kirill University of Ottawa
Zhong, Changlong University of Southern California
Suarez, Carlos  


Back to top