July 12, 2024

March 26-28, 2010
Workshop on Torsors, Lie algebras and Galois Cohomology
University of Ottawa, 585 King Edward, Ottawa

Organizers: Erhard Neher and Kirill Zainoulline,
Department of Mathematics and Statistics,University of Ottawa

Workshop Group Photo

Online Registration is now closed, onsite registration is March 26 Abstract submission for invited speakers
Participants List Accommodation and Travel to Ottawa


The theory of Lie algebras and the theory of torsors are well-established areas of modern mathematics. The first deals with the study and classification of (in-)finite dimensional Lie algebras and their representations and has many applications in geometry, combinatorics and mathematical physics. The second studies and classifies so-called twisted forms of algebraic objects (example: associative algebras that become matrix algebras after extending the base field to an algebraic closure), and has many applications in algebraic geometry and number theory. The bridge between these two areas is provided by the Galois cohomology, an invariant which has been extensively studied during the last decades.

The purpose of the mini-workshop is to bring together specialists and young researchers (PhD's and postdocs) in these areas to discuss recent developments and results, to provide an overview of the current research and applications, and to advertise the area among students.

During the workshop Prof. Skip Garibaldi (Emory University, USA) will give two introductory lectures on ``cohomological invariants of linear algebraic groups", aimed for graduate students.

Confirmed speakers

Vladimir Chernousov (Alberta)
Skip Garibaldi (Emory)
Stefan Gille (München)
Nicole Lemire (Western)
Mark MacDonald (UBC)
Audrey Malagon (Mercer)
Ján Minác (Western)
Alexander Ondrus (Alberta)
Zinovy Reichstein (UBC)
Aurel Meyer (UBC)
Arturo Pianzola (Alberta)
Jie Sun (Ottawa)
Angelika Welte (Ottawa)


There are no registration fees. But the organizers would very much appreciate registration by prospective participants. This will help the organizers in their preparation.


Explanation of building symbols:
LMX = Lamourreux
KED = 585 KED = 585 King Edward (Building of the Department)
Details on the campus map of the University of Ottawa

Friday, March 26
Room LMX 390: (8:30 - 13:00)
9:00 - 10:00 Skip Garibaldi (Emory University)
An introduction to cohomological and quadratic form invariants - Part I
10:00 - 10:30 Coffee Break
10:30 - 11:30 Jan Minac (University of Western Ontario)
Galois Cinderella and her wicked stepsisters
11:45 - 12:45 Nicole Lemire (University of Western Ontario)
The Essential Dimension of the Moduli Stack of Vector Bundles over a Curve
lunch in Jazzy (University Centre)
Room KED B005: (14:30 - 17:30)
14:30 - 15:30 Audrey Malagon (Mercer University)
Killing Forms of Isotropic Lie Algebras
15:30 - 16:00 Coffee Break (KED, lounge)
16:00 - 17:00 Stefan Gille (Math Institut, University of Munich)
The Rost nilpotence theorem for geometrically rational surfaces
19:00 - Dinner (details to be announced)
Saturday, March 27
Room KED B005 (8:30 - 18:00)
9:00 - 10:00 Skip Garibaldi (Emory University)
An introduction to cohomological and quadratic form invariants - Part II
10:00 - 10:30 Coffee Break (KED, lounge)
10:30 - 11:30 Vladimir Chernousov (University of Alberta)
On Grothendieck-Serre and Purity conjectures for groups of type F4
11:45 - 12:45 Alex Ondrus (University of Alberta)
Minimal Anisotropic Groups of Higher Real Rank
Lunch (details to be announced)
14:00 - 15:00 Angelika Welte (University of Ottawa)
Derivations of Albert algebras and central extensions of C_3-graded Lie algebras
15:15 - 16:15 Arturo Pianzola (University of Alberta)
Margaux's revenge: The MAD world of conjugacy for multiloop algebras and groups
16:15 - 16:45 Coffee Break
16:45 - 17:45 Jie Sun (University of Ottawa)
Universal Central Extensions of Twisted Forms
19:00 - Dinner
Sunday, March 28
Room KED B005 (8:30 - 18:00)
9:00 - 10:00
Zinovy Reichstein (University of British Columbia)
Versal torsors with a twist
10:00 - 10:30 Coffee Break (KED, lounge)
10:30 - 11:30 Aurel Meyer (University of British Columbia)
Algebraic tori, lattices, essential dimension
11:45 - 12:45 Mark MacDonald (University of British Columbia)
Canoncial dimension of projective homogeneous varieties
departure and/or lunch

Arrival and Departure Dates

The workshop will start on Friday morning and will end on Sunday, early afternoon.

Participant List as of March 22, 2010:

Full Name University Name
Baek, Sanghoon University of California, Los Angeles
Blunk, Mark University of British Columbia
Chernousov, Vladimir University of Alberta
Daigle, Daniel University of Ottawa
Dale Hill, John University of Ottawa
Dionne, Christopher Queen's University
Ducoat, Jerome Joseph Fourier University
Duncan, Alexander Unversity of British Columbia
El-Chaar, Caroline University of Ottawa
Gao, Ming York University
Garibaldi, Skip Emory University
Gille, Stefan University Munich
Grimm, David University of Konstanz
Junkins, Caroline McMaster University
Lau, Michael Université Laval
Lefebvre, Jerome University of British Columbia
Lemay, Joel University of Ottawa
Lemire, Nicole University of Western Ontario
MacDonald, Mark University of British Columbia
Malagon, Audrey Mercer University
Meyer, Aurel University of British Columbia
Minác, Ján University of Western Ontario
Minchenko, Andrey Cornell University
Morgan, Stephen University of Toronto
Neher, Erhard University of Ottawa
Nevins, Monica University of Ottawa
Nguyen, Athena University of British Columbia
Ondrus, Alexander University of Alberta
O'Shea, James University of Konstanz
Pianzola, Arturo University of Alberta
Racine, Michel University of Ottawa
Reichstein, Zinovy University of British Columbia
Sanchez Ortega, Juana Universidad de Malaga
Savage, Alistair University of Ottawa
Sun, Jie University of Ottawa
Weekes, Alex Carleton University
Welte, Angelika University of Ottawa
Zainoulline, Kirill University of Ottawa


Travel Support

Funding will be available for graduate students and postdoctoral fellows. The deadline for application for support was January 17, 2010. Funding applicants will
be notified of the results by the end of January 2010.

Back to top