September 27, 2023


Short Thematic Program on Delay Differential Equations
May 2015
Organizing Committee
Odo Diekmann (Utrecht)
Sue Ann Campbell (Waterloo)
Stephen Gourley (Surrey)
Yuliya Kyrychko (Sussex)

Eckehard Schöll (TU Berlin)
Michael Mackey (McGill)
Hans-Otto Walther (Giessen)
Glenn Webb (Vanderbilt)
Jianhong Wu (York)


The program will be centered around the following four interconnected sub-themes:
(i). Differential equations with variable delay;
(ii). Delay differential equations in physical sciences and engineering;
(iii). Structured delay systems;
(iv). Delay differential equations in medicine and physiology.

Program structure

The program will be run in May 2015, and will be organized along the aforementioned sub-themes, each typically consisting of a "short introductory course", an "opening talk" covering the main issues of the sub-theme in a format suitable for general participants including graduate students, a number of "invited talks" to cover the subject in depth, an afternoon poster session for graduate students, "panel discussions" with focus for future directions, and some "public lectures" focusing on applications. There will be a session dedicated to knowledge translation and transfer, and Professor John Mallet-Paret (Brown University) will give the Coxeter and Distinguished Lecture Series associated with thematic program.

It is hoped that invited presentations combined will provide a comprehensive picture of the current status including most recent progress in the sub-theme and the entire field. The primary goal of these presentations and discussions is to generate synergy among these sub-themes, every effort is being and will be made to make sure that the sub-thematic areas combined will provide a global picture of the frontiers and future directions in nonlinear dynamics of delay differential equations.

Sub-themes: thematic topics and thematic leaders

May 4-8, 2015
Theme: Differential equations with variable delay

Thematic leader: Hans-Otto Walther, Giessen

Introduction to state-dependent DDEs, Tibor Krisztin (Szeged)
Opening talk, Roger Nussbaum (Rutgers)
Distinguished Lecture, John Mallet-Paret (Brown)
Invited lectures, poster session, and panel discussions

May 11-15, 2015
Theme: Delay-Differential equations in physical sciences and engineering

Thematic leader: Eckehard Schöll, TU Berlin; Yuliya Kyrychko, Sussex

Opening talk, Ingo Fischer (Palma)
Public lecture, Gabor Stepan (Budapest)
Invited lectures, poster session and panel discussions

May 19-22, 2015
Theme on Structured delay systems

Thematic leader: Odo Diekmann, Utrecht; Glenn Webb, Vanderbilt


May 25-29, 2015
Theme on Delay differential equations in life sciences and medicine

Thematic leader: Michael Mackey, McGill.


Back to top