April 16, 2024

Workshop on Flexible Network Design
July 29–August 2, 2013
Fields Institute, Toronto

Organizers: Anupam Gupta and R. Ravi, (Carnegie Mellon),
Stefano Leonardi (Sapienza University of Rome),
Joseph Cheriyan, Jochen Könemann, Laura Sanita and Chaitanya Swamy (University of Waterloo)


Network Design with its many variants is one of the most active mathematical research areas involving researchers from Theoretical Computer Science, Graph Algorithms, and Discrete Optimization. In addition, new problems in this area are constantly propounded by practitioners working in various aspects of network design such as construction, routing and staged deployment. Furthermore, many new design paradigms such as ATM, Ad Hoc and Wireless networking add rich new flavors to existing problems.

This five-day workshop will cover the most emergent topics in network design. The goal of this workshop is to bring together experts from the communities mentioned above to give them the possibility to discuss recent advances, understand current trends, identify understudied areas, and formulate new directions for further investigation in this area.

The goals of the workshop are as follows:
1. To bring together researchers in the many diverse subareas who address different aspects of network design, and to stimulate the exchange of ideas and techniques between these groups.
2. To include younger researchers; the goal is to encourage participation from Ph.D. students and Postdoctoral Fellows in Ontario
3. To allow groups of Canadian researchers working in this area to meet, and either initiate or renew
The invited speakers include many of the leading researchers in the area. A number also have have
strong ties to industry.

Registered Participants as of July 22, 2013
(*Awaiting confirmation)

Full Name University/Affiliation
Abdi, Ahmad University of Waterloo
Adjiashvili, David IFOR, ETH Zurich
Ahmadian, Sara University of Waterloo
Alamdari, Soroush Cornell University
An, Hyung-Chan EPFL
Anbalagan, Yogesh McGill University
Angelidakis, Charalampos Toyota Technological Institute at Chicago
Antoniadis, Antonios University of Pittsburgh
Barbosa, Rafael University of Warwick
Barman, Siddharth California Institute of Technology
Bernstein, Aaron Columbia University
Bhaskar, Umang California Institute of Technology
Bock, Adrian EPFL
Borradaile, Glencora Oregon State University
Byrka, Jaroslaw University of Wroclaw
Caloian, Cristian University of Toronto
Chandrasekaran, Karthekeyan Harvard University
Changiz Rezaei, Seyed Saeed University of Waterloo
Chawla, Shuchi University of Wisconsin- Madison
Chekuri, Chandra University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Cheriyan, Joseph University of Waterloo
Chitnis, Rajesh University of Maryland, College Park
Chuzhoy, Julia Toyota Technological Institute at Chicago
Eisenbrand, Friedrich EPFL SB IMA
Englert, Matthias Warwick University
Esfandiari, Hossein UMD
Farczadi, Linda University of Waterloo
Fata, Elaheh University of Waterloo
Fleischman, Daniel Cornell University
Friggstad, Zachary University of Waterloo
Fukunaga, Takuro National Institute of Informatics
Gao, Zhihan University of Waterloo
Georgiou, Konstantinos University of Waterloo
Gholami, Milad University of Maryland
Göbel, Oliver RWTH Aachen University
Grandoni, Fabrizio University of Lugano
Gupta, Anupam Carnegie Mellon University
Hajiaghayi, Mohammad U. of Maryland, College Park
Harvey, Nicholas UBC
Hota, Ashish University of Waterloo
Iglesias, Jennifer Carnegie Mellon University
Javed, Muhammad* Ryerson University
Karloff, Howard ATT Labs--Research
Karp, Jeremy Carnegie Mellon University
Kling, Peter University of Paderborn
Koenemann, Jochen University of Waterloo
Krishnaswamy, Ravishankar Princeton University
Laekhanukit, Bundit McGill University
Lau, Lap Chi The Chinese University of Hong Kong
Leonardi, Stefano Sapienza University of Rome and Google NYC
Lo, Venus University of Waterloo
Madan, Vivek University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
Mahini, Hamid University of Maryland
Malec, David University of Maryland
McCormick, Thomas University of British Columbia
Mehrabian, Abbas University of Waterloo
Milic, Sasa University of Toronto
Mishkoy, Gheorghe Konstantin* Free International University of Moldova
Moradi, Ebrahim University of Waterloo
Mouatadid, Lalla University of Toronto
Mucha, Marcin University of Warsaw
Nagarajan, Viswanath IBM TJ Watson Research Center
Naor, Seffi Technion
Nugent, Michael University of Pittsburgh
O.Ghaffari, H. University of Toronto
Olver, Neil Massachusetts Institute of Technology
O'Mahony, Eoin Cornell University
Oriolo, Gianpaolo Universita Tor Vergata
Panigrahi, Debmalya Duke University and Microsoft Research
Peis, Britta TU Berlin
Pilipczuk, Marcin University of Warsaw
Post, Ian University of Waterloo
Pritchard, David Princeton University
Pruhs, Kirk University of Pittsburgh
Purohit, Manish University of Maryland, College Park
Rajaraman, Rajmohan Northeastern University
Ravi, Ramamoorthi Carnegie Mellon University
Rothvoss, Thomas MIT
Rybicki, Bartosz University of Wroc?aw
Salavatipour, Mohammad R. University of Alberta
Sanita, Laura University of Waterloo
Sarpatwar, Kanthi Kiran University of Maryland, College Park
Schwartz, Roy Microsoft Research
Scquizzato, Michele University of Pittsburgh
Senatore, Marco University of Rome Tor Vergata
Shadravan, Mohammad University of Waterloo
Shepherd, Bruce McGill University
Shmoys, David Cornell University
Silvanus, Jannik Research Institute for Discrete Mathematics
Stein, Clifford Columbia University
Sviridenko, Maxim University of Warwick
Swamy, Chaitanya University of Waterloo
Talwar, Kunal Microsoft Research
Tong, Chaoxu Cornell
Umboh, Seeun University of Wisconsin Madison
Verschae, Jose University of Chile
Vygen, Jens University of Bonn
Ward, Justin University of Warwick
Wilfong, Gordon Bell Labs
Zhang, Haotian University of Waterloo
Zoghalchi, Farshid* University of Toronto
Zou, Chenglong McGill


Previous Workshops
Warsaw, Poland, July 23-27, 2012
Dagstuhl, Germany, May 24 - 28, 2010
Warwick, UK, July 13 - 16, 2008
Bertinoro, Italy, October 2 - 6, 2006
Princeton, NJ, November 4 - 5, 2005, by the Aladdin research project.