January 17, 2019

October 19, 2002

The Royal Society of Canada, Academy of Science, has recently elected new Fellows for the 2002 year. The Fields Institute will be hosting an event on October 19, 2002, to celebrate the achievements of this year's new Fellows in the mathematical and physical sciences from this area. There will be 4 talks by newly elected Fellows of the Royal Society between 1:00pm and 4:40pm, followed by a reception.

Vidyadhar Godambe, Department of Statistics and Actuarial Science, University of Waterloo
Peter Guthrie, Department of Chemistry, The University of Western Ontario
Niky Kamran, Department of Mathematics and Statistics, McGill University
Neal Madras, Department of Mathematics and Statistics, York University

1:05 - 1:10 pm Opening remarks by Cam Stewart, University of Waterloo,
and Kenneth Davidson, Director, The Fields Institute
1:10 - 1:50 pm Peter Guthrie, University of Western Ontario
Predicting how fast a chemical reaction will occur
1:50 - 2: 00 pm Break
2:00 - 2:40 pm Niky Kamran, McGill University
Wave Equations in Kerr Geometry
2:40 - 3:10 pm Afternoon Tea Break
3:10 - 3:50 pm Neal Madras, York University
Self-Avoiding Walks and Related Models
4:00- 4:40 pm Vidyadhar Godambe, University of Waterloo
A Fundamental Paradox of Statistics
4:40 - 5:30 pm Reception

A complete listing of all new Fellows elected to the Royal Society of Canada in 2002 is available here. The new Fellows will be inducted into the Society in a ceremony set to take place at Rideau Hall on Friday, November 22, 2002.

back to top