November 27, 2021

Workshop on Rational homotopy theory and its applications
May 29-31, 2012

at the University of Ottawa

Local organizers
Rick Blute, Barry Jessup, Paul-Eugène Parent
Scientific Advisory Committee
Aniceto Murillo (University of Malaga, Spain)
John Oprea (Cleveland State University, USA)



This workshop will be held in honour of Yves Félix's 60th birthday (Université catholique de Louvain, Belgium). We wish to pay tribute to his exceptional career and hugely influential contribution to this field of research.

One-hour lectures given by invited speakers. Participants that have already accepted to contribute a talk are:

Peter Bubenik (Cleveland State University, USA)
David Chataur (Université des Sciences et Technologies de Lille, France)
Fred Cohen (University of Rochester, USA)
Octav Cornea (Université de Montréal)
Steve Halperin (University of Maryland, USA)
Kathryn Hess (Ecole Polytechnique de Lausanne, Switzerland)
Pascal Lambrechts (Université catholique de Louvain, Belgium)
Vicente Muñoz (University of Madrid, Spain)
Paolo Salvatore (University of Rome, Italy)
Sam Smith (Saint Joseph's University, USA)
Don Stanley (University of Regina)
Daniel Tanré (Université des Sciences et Technologies de Lille, France)
Lucile Vandembroucq (University of Minho, Portugal)

The introductory lectures in rational homotopy theory will be given jointly by Steve Halperin and Jonathan Scott. These will be held on
Monday the 28th of May.

Abstracts available here

Workshop Program

Monday May 28th, 2012
Introductory Talks
9:00 - 9:30 a.m. Registration
9:30 - 10:30 a.m. Rational Homotopy Theory I
Steve Halperin (Univeristy of Maryland)
11:00 - 12:00 noon Rational Homotopy Theory II
Jonathan Scott (Cleveland State Universtiy)
12:00 - 2:00 p.m. Lunch
2:00 - 3:00 p.m. Rational Homotopy Thoeory III
Stevel Halperin (University of Maryland)
3:30 - 4:30 p.m. Rational Homotopy Theory IV
Jonathan Scott (Cleveland State University)
Tuesday Mary 29th, 2012
9:00 - 10:00 a.m. Steve Halperin (University of Maryland)
The Growth of the Rational Homotopy Groups and Loop Space Homology of a Finite Complex
10:15 - 11:15 a.m. Don Stanley (University of Regina)
11:30 - 12:30 noon Paolo Salvatore (University of Rome)
Cellular decompositions of con guration spaces
12:30 - 2:30 p.m. Lunch
2:30 - 3:30 p.m. Sam Smith (Saint Joseph's University)
Fibrewise Rational Homotopy Theory
3:45 - 4:45 p.m. David Chataur ( Universit e des Sciences et Technologies de Lille)
Loop spaces and duality
Wednesday May 30th, 2012
9:00 - 10:00 a.m. Kathryn Hess (Ecole Polytechnique de Lausanne)
Duality descent and extensions
10:15 - 11:15 a.m. Octav Cornea ( Universite de Montreal)
Some enumerative invariants in Lagrangian topology and the free loop space
11:30 - 12:30 p.m. Lucile Vandembroucq : University of Minho
Topological Complexity and DGA modules
2:30 - 3:30 p.m. Fred Cohen (University of Rochester)
Moment-angle complexes, Polyhedral products and their applications
3:45 - 4:45 p.m. Pascal Lambrechts (Universit e catholique de Louvain)
Thursday May 31, 2012
9:00 - 10:00 a.m. Aniceto Murillo (University of Malaga)
The second Bernoulli number, endpoints of a path, and models of non- connected spaces
10:15 - 11:15 a.m. Jonathan Scott (Cleveland State University)
11:30 - 12:30 p.m. Daniel Tanre (Universit e des Sciences et Technologies de Lille)

Map of University of Ottawa campus

Participant List

First Name Last Name
Aniceto Murillo
Antonio Garvin
Aradhana Kumari
Bernard Badzioch
Bora Ferlengez
David Chataur
Dionicio Ibarias
Don Stanley
Francisco Belchí Guillamón
Fred Cohen
Giovanni Bazzoni
Gregory Lupton
Hector Cordova
Huygens Ravelomanana
John McCleary
John Oprea
Jonathan Scott
Jose Gabriel Carrasquel Vera
Kathryn Hess
Lucile Vandembroucq
Mark W. Johnson
Martin Frankland
Marzieh Bayeh
Matthew Miller
Mehdi Garrousian
Michael Ching
Miguel A. Xicotencatl
Mitsunobu Tsutaya
My Ismail Mamouni
Nick Scoville
Octav Cornea
Paolo Salvatore
Pascal Lambrechts
Paul Arnaud Songhafouo
Philip Egger
Qusay Al-Zamil
Samuel Smith
Sergio Huerta Lara
Stephen Halperin
Urtzi Buijs Martin
Victor Turchin
Wojtek Dorabiala

Back to top