June 30, 2016

2004 CRM-Fields Prize Winners - Professor Donald Dawson

January 2004 -The Centre de recherches mathématiques and the Fields Institute are pleased to announce the winner of the CRM-Fields prize for 2004: Donald Dawson of Carleton University/McGill University.

Donald Dawson, this year's recipient, is one of the world's leading probabilists, having made seminal contributions to the study of spatially distributed stochastic processes and infinite-dimensional branching systems, among those being the Dawson-Watanabe superprocess. He received his B.Sc. from McGill in 1958 and his doctorate from MIT in 1963.

Professor Dawson taught at both McGill University and Carleton University, where he is now Professor Emeritus. His leadership within the Canadian mathematical community includes a term as Director of the Fields Institute from 1996 to 2000. He is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada, as well as of the International Statistical Institute and the Institute of Mathematical Statistics.

Other honours include 1991 Gold Medal Lecture of the Statistical Society of Canada, the 1994 Jeffery-Williams lecture of the CMS, an invited lecture at the 1994 ICM, as well as the Fields Institute's Distinguished Lecture Series in the Statistical Sciences. His numerous editorial contributions include serving as co-editor-in-chief of the Canadian Journal of Mathematics. He has served his profession through numerous NSERC and CMS committees, and is currently President-Elect of the Bernoulli Society for Mathematical Statistics and Probability.

Previous recipients are H.S.M. (Donald) Coxeter, George A. Elliott, James Arthur, Robert V. Moody, Stephen A. Cook, Israel Michael Sigal, William T. Tutte, John B. Friedlander, John McKay and Edwin Perkins.